OpenPOWER Foundation Technical Initiatives



As the Chair of the OpenPOWER Technical Steering Committee Mr. Brown will be discussing the technical agenda of the OpenPOWER Foundation and the structure of foundation workgroups.  He will describe the scope and objectives of key workgroups as well as their relationships to each other.  A roadmap of workgroup activities will illustrate when the community can expect key results.  The presentation will also cover three of the key initiatives within the OpenPOWER Foundation.  These initiatives involve work recently started to enable active foundation member engagement in workgroups focused on application solution sets IO device enablement, and compliance.  Mr. Brown will be joined by Randall Ross of Canonical who will cover application solution sets,  Rakesh Sharma of IBM who will cover broader IO device enablement, and Sandy Woodword of IBM who is the chair of the compliance workgroup .  Please join us for this in depth look at the OpenPOWER Foundation’s technical activities and how we will enable ecosystem members to deliver solutions.


Jeffrey D. Brown, IBM Server and Technology Group.  Jeff is an IBM Distinguished Engineer and member of the IBM Academy of Technology.  He received a B.S. in Electrical Engineering and a B.S. in Physics from Washington State University in 1981.  He received his M.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from Washington State University in 1982.  Jeff has over 25 years of experience in VLSI development including processor, memory, and IO subsystem development projects for IBM multi-processor systems and servers.  He is the coauthor of more than 40 patent filings.  He has been the Chief Engineer on several processor and SOC chip development programs including Waternoose for the XBOX360 and Power Edge of Network.  Jeff is currently actively involved in the OpenPOWER Foundation and chairs the Technical Steering Committee.

Sandra Woodward is the OpenPOWER Foundation Compliance Work Group Chair. She received her B.S. in Electrical Engineering from University of Nebraska Lincoln and her M.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from Syracuse University.  Sandy has over 20 years of  experience with the POWER architecture.  She is a Senior Technical Staff Member at IBM, is an IBM Academy of Technology Member, and a member of the Society of Women Engineers and Women in Technology International.

Rakesh Sharma is IBM POWER Systems I/O Chief Engineer and is focused on OpenPOWER I/O.  He chairs OpenPOWER I/O Workgroup Chartering Committee. He received his Bachelors in Electrical Engineering from IIT-Kanpur, India and Masters in Computer Science from North Dakota State University, Fargo. Rakesh has over 20 years of experience with the POWER architecture specializing in I/O, Virtualization and Networking. He is a Senior Technical Staff Member and is an IBM Master Inventor.


Download Presentation

Back to Summit Details