Board of Directors

  • John Zannos, Chair


    John Zannos is Vice President of Cloud Channels and Alliances at Canonical. He is responsible for execution of the Ubuntu Cloud business, partnerships, alliances and strategy. During his career John has lead business and technology efforts around cloud computing, utility computing, hosting, application management, disaster recovery, security, unified communications, and content distribution networks. Prior to working at Canonical, he held technology leadership positions at HP, IVIA, Compaq, Digital Equipment Corporation, Boston University, ARCO and US EPA. John is a member of the Board of Directors of OpenStack and OpenPOWER foundations; his interest is to ensure an open and thriving technology ecosystem. He now lives in the Boston area with his family, enjoying a Red Sox game when he can.

  • Bryan Talik, President


    Bryan Talik is Director of Development, Power Systems at IBM. He is currently responsible for the development, enablement and support of OpenPOWER server design and CAPI acceleration for the worldwide OpenPOWER Ecosystem. Previously, Bryan has held several product development leadership positions in IBM for POWER microprocessors, embedded PowerPC, and ASICs.

  • Michael Diamond, Vice President and Treasurer


    Michael Diamond is Sr. Director of Strategic Marketing at NVIDIA. He was Vice President of Operations for Intensys, a Graphics Processor company, before joining NVIDIA in 2001. Mr. Diamond is a founder of the OpenPower Foundation and serves on its Board of Directors as Vice President and Treasurer, serves on the OpenCAPI and PCI SIG Board of Directors, served on the PC Gaming Alliance Board of Directors, and has authored or co-authored 71 patents. He holds a B.S.E. degree from California State University Northridge, an M.S.M.E. and M.B.A. from the University of Southern California, and attended Executive Management programs at Caltech and MIT-Sloan.

  • Maire Mahony, Director


    Maire is a hardware engineering manager at Google and leads a team responsible for development of storage and appliance systems deployed worldwide at Google datacenters. Prior to joining Google, Maire held design lead roles at Sun Microsystems, developing x86 and SPARC based server platforms.

  • Gordon Patrick, Director


    Gordon Patrick is Director of Marketing, Enterprise Computing at Micron. During his career within the Memory industry, he has held a variety of strategic marketing, business development and sales management roles at Micron, Qimonda, Infineon Technologies and Siemens Semiconductors. Gordon previously worked within the military sector where he held various design engineering management positions while based in the Radar Systems Labs at GEC Marconi Avionics. He holds a B.Eng (Hons) in Electrical & Electronic Engineering from Edinburgh Napier University.

  • Dirk Pleiter, Director


    Prof. Dr. Dirk Pleiter is research group leader at Jülich Supercomputing Centre (JSC) and professor in theoretical physics at University of Regensburg. At JSC he is leading the work on application oriented technology development and is, e.g., principal investigator of the POWER Accelerator and Design Center at Jülich. Dirk has played a leading role in several projects for developing massively-parallel special purpose computers.

  • Gilad Shainer, Director


    Gilad Shainer has served as Mellanox's Vice President of Marketing since March 2013. Previously, Mr. Shainer was Mellanox's Vice President of Marketing Development from March 2012 to March 2013. Mr. Shainer joined Mellanox in 2001 as a design engineer and later served in senior marketing management roles between July 2005 and February 2012. Mr. Shainer holds several patents in the field of high-speed networking and contributed to the PCI-SIG PCI-X and PCIe specifications. Gilad Shainer holds a MSc degree (2001, Cum Laude) and a BSc degree (1998, Cum Laude) in Electrical Engineering from the Technion Institute of Technology in Israel.

  • Allan Cantle, Director


    Allan is President and Founder of Nallatech who specialize in FPGA Compute Accelerators. He is responsible for architecting Nallatech’s product roadmap based around solving real Application problems with the best heterogeneous computing solutions. Key to this role is building deep collaborative alliances with computing industry partners. Allan is currently the Chairman of the OpenPOWER Accelerator Workgroup helping to drive computing architectures to be more data centric. Allan, founded Nallatech in 1993 with a focus on FPGA based compute acceleration. Previously, he was an Electronic Systems Engineer at BAE Systems, designing and building Real Time, Heterogeneous HPC Computers that were used to test live defense systems.

  • Scott Herold, Director

    Red Hat, Inc.

  • Andy Walsh, Director


    Andy Walsh is a Director of Marketing at Xilinx where he leads the Data Center business segment. Andy joined Xilinx in 2015. He has 20 years of experience bringing to market storage, networking and computing solutions. Prior to Xilinx, he was with NVIDIA where he led marketing teams in new growth areas such as accelerated computing and embedded graphics.

Board Advisors

  • Gordon MacKean, Board Advisor


    Gordon is a founder of OpenPOWER Foundation and serves as Board Advisor to OpenPOWER Foundation. Gordon holds a Bachelors degree in Electrical Engineering from Carleton University. He leads the team responsible for the design and development of the server and storage products used to power Google data centers. Prior to Google, Gordon held management and design roles at several networking companies including Matisse Networks, Extreme Networks, and Nortel Networks.

  • Brad McCredie, Board Advisor


    Dr. Bradley McCredie is an IBM Fellow, Vice President of IBM Power Systems Development and Board Advisor to OpenPOWER Foundation. Brad first joined IBM focusing on packaging for IBM’s mainframe systems. He later took a position within the IBM Power Systems development organization and has since worked in a variety of development and executive roles for POWER-based systems. In his current role, he oversees the development and delivery of IBM Power Systems that incorporate the latest technology advancements to support clients' changing business needs.